Thursday, February 23, 2017

Book Review: The Romantics

The RomanticsAbout the Book:
Title: The Romantics
Author: Leah Konen
Pub. Date: November 1, 2016
Publisher: Amulet Books
Pages: 336
Rating: 3.5/5 stars


Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right—but she doesn’t anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love’s plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael’s hot-sauce-wielding “dream girl.” The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules—and in order to set Gael’s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care. 


We've all heard the verse: Love is patient, Love is kind...well Love kinda got distracted and messed up the love life of 2 people that were supposed to be together forever. So the only logical thing to do, fix the love life of their son. Nothing could go wrong, right? The Romantics is a fun, quick read that will leave you laughing out loud and enjoying every second of reading. The book is fast-paced and well written, and I loved the unique twist of Love being the narrator of the story. The plot is lighthearted and cute, but predictable (only reason I gave it 3.5 stars instead of a full 4). I was surprised by how much I enjoyed the story, and I'll definitely be checking out more from Leah Konen in the future!

Having Love as our narrator added some hilarious commentary but also very relevant advice to all those who are dating. I did like the change of having the MC looking for love be male instead of female. It was a refreshing way to read a contemporary story, and I liked the different perspective. Gael was a great lead character for the story. You see he's a romantic, not the guy that's into romantic comedies or that mushy gushy stuff (he's actually the exact opposite); no, he's the guy that falls hard and falls other words he says those 3 big words way too quickly. He was definitely cute and I could easily tell who he was going to end up with in the end. Love's interventions in his life (without Gael knowing of course) caused some pretty spectacular moments in the book, and kept the story fun and unexpected.

I definitely recommend checking this out if you're looking for a quick, cute read that takes a different perspective than your classic love story. Even though the plot is sort of basic and predictable, it didn't make reading the story any less fun! Based off of the ending, I would love to see a sequel to this focusing on other characters. Leah Konen has a great talent for storytelling and she is one to watch!

Happy reading :)


No comments:

Post a Comment